Arteries of Vegans vs. Runners

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: The carotid arteries of those eating plant-based diets appear healthier than even those just as slim (long-distance endurance athletes who’ve run an average of 50,000 miles).

Did I say heart disease reversal? If you didn’t know there was a way to treat heart disease without getting your chest cracked open then my blog Heart Disease: There Is a Cure (http://nutritionfacts.org/2011/10/14/heart-disease-there-is-a-cure) is a good place to start.

More on the radiation risks associated with diagnostic procedures in Cancer Risk From CT Scan Radiation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-risk-from-ct-scan-radiation/) and Do Dental X-Rays Cause Brain Tumors? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-dental-x-rays-cause-brain-tumors/).

Carotid artery wall thickness is what was measured in the study I profiled in Eggs vs. Cigarettes in Atherosclerosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-vs-cigarettes-in-atherosclerosis/).

Another comparison between athletes and plant-eaters can be found in Is It the Diet, the Exercise, or Both? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-it-the-diet-the-exercise-or-both/) It compares cancer-fighting abilities with a similar result. See the “prequel” video, though, so you know what test they’re talking about: Ex Vivo Cancer Proliferation Bioassay (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-it-the-diet-the-exercise-or-both/). For weight loss diet also provides more control: Diet vs. Exercise for Weight Loss (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-or-exercise-whats-more-important-for-weight-loss/).

None of this is to disparage exercise, which is critical for a variety of important reasons, immunity (Preserving Immune Function in Athletes With Nutritional Yeast, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preserving-immune-function-in-athletes-with-nutritional-yeast/), breast health (Exercise & Breast Cancer, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/exercise-breast-cancer/), and brain protection (Reversing Cognitive Decline, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reversing-cognitive-decline/). So diet and exercise, not or exercise. My physical activity comes from walking while I work: Standing Up for Your Health (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/standing-up-for-your-health/).

Not all studies showed vegans have superior arterial form and function. Find out why in my next video Vitamin B12 Necessary for Arterial Health (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-b12-necessary-for-arterial-health).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/arteries-of-vegans-vs-runners/ and he’ll try to answer it!

www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.