Beans, Beans, They’re Good For Your Heart

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Legumes such as lentils, chickpeas, beans and split peas may reduce cholesterol so much that consumers may be able to get off their cholesterol-lowering statin drugs, but to profoundly alter heart disease risk we may have to more profoundly alter our diet.

Beans dips like hummus are among my favorite go-to snacks. I like to dip snap peas and red bell pepper slices in them. I’d love to hear everyone’s favorite recipe. You show me yours and I’ll show you mine 🙂

Canned Beans or Cooked Beans? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/canned-beans-or-cooked-beans/) Click the link to find out!

Beans can help us live longer (Increased Lifespan from Beans http://nutritionfacts.org/video/increased-lifespan-from-beans/), control our blood sugars (Beans and the Second Meal Effect http://nutritionfacts.org/video/beans-and-the-second-meal-effect/), and help prevent and treat diabetes (Preventing Prediabetes By Eating More http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-prediabetes-by-eating-more/ and Diabetics Should Take Their Pulses http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/diabetics-should-take-their-pulses/).

What about the purported “anti-nutrient” phytates in beans? You mean the Phytates for the Prevention of Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-prevention-of-cancer/), the Phytates for Rehabilitating Cancer Cells (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-rehabilitating-cancer-cells/), and the Phytates for the Treatment of Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-treatment-of-cancer/) Phytate-containing foods may also help protect our bones (Phytates for the Prevention of Osteoporosis http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-prevention-of-osteoporosis/).

Why not just take cholesterol pills every day for the rest of our life? See my videos Statin Muscle Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/statin-muscle-toxicity/) and Statin Cholesterol Drugs and Invasive Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/statin-cholesterol-drugs-and-invasive-breast-cancer/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/beans-beans-theyre-good-for-your-heart/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.