Blocking the First Step of Heart Disease

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates
Donate at http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsdonation
DESCRIPTION: By preventing the buildup of cholesterol in our blood stream, we can prevent atherosclerosis in our coronary arteries, the leading cause of death in the United States for both men and women. This involves increasing our intake of fiber-containing plant foods and decreasing our intake of trans fat, saturated fat, and cholesterol found in junk food and animal products. More details on lowering cholesterol through diet can be found in Dried Apples Versus Cholesterol (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-versus-cholesterol/), Amla Versus Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-diabetes/), New Cholesterol Fighters (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/new-cholesterol-fighters/), and Eliminating the #1 Cause of Death (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eliminating-the-1-cause-of-death/). For more on the benefits of fiber, see Food Mass Transit (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-mass-transit/) and for more on what foods to avoid, see Egg Cholesterol in the Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/egg-cholesterol-in-the-diet/) and Trans Fat, Saturated Fat, and Cholesterol: Tolerable Upper Intake of Zero (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/trans-fat-saturated-fat-and-cholesterol-tolerable-upper-intake-of-zero/). For more on the dangers of animal fat, see Largest Study Ever (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/largest-study-ever/). On the contrary, high-fat plant foods may not have the same effect. See, for example, Plant-Based Atkins Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-atkins-diet/). In the next video I will cover how to block the second step of heart disease in Making Our Arteries Less Sticky. Aside from heart health, there are hundreds of other videos on more than a thousand subjects at http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/blocking-the-first-step-of-heart-disease/ and he’ll try to answer it!

www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.