Cholesterol and Alzheimer’s disease

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: High-tech advances such as PET scanning offer new insight into the role cholesterol plays in both the amyloid cascade and vascular models of the development of Alzheimer’s dementia.

I first addressed the concerns over the cognitive effects of cholesterol lowering statin drugs years ago in my video Statin Muscle Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/statin-muscle-toxicity/). I’ve since discussed the associated breast cancer risks (Statin Cholesterol Drugs and Invasive Breast Cancer http://nutritionfacts.org/video/statin-cholesterol-drugs-and-invasive-breast-cancer/) and the surprisingly low level of effectiveness (The Actual Benefit of Diet vs. Drugs http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-actual-benefit-of-diet-vs-drugs/).

Thankfully, the same diet that can protect the heart may protect the brain:
• Alzheimer’s Disease: Grain Brain or Meathead? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alzheimers-disease-grain-brain-or-meathead/)
• Preventing Alzheimer’s with Lifestyle Changes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-alzheimers-with-lifestyle-changes)
• Preventing Alzheimer’s Disease with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-alzheimers-disease-with-diet)
• Preventing Alzheimer’s Disease With Plants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Preventing-Alzheimers-Disease-With-Plants/)
• Reducing Glycotoxin Intake to Prevent Alzheimer’s (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Reducing-Glycotoxin-Intake-to-Prevent-Alzheimers)
• Alzheimer’s May Start Decades Before Diagnosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alzheimers-may-start-decades-before-diagnosis)
• Alzheimer’s and Atherosclerosis of the Brain (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alzheimers-and-atherosclerosis-of-the-brain)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cholesterol-and-alzheimers-disease and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.