High Blood Pressure May Be a Choice

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Eating a diet low enough in sodium (salt) can prevent the rise in hypertension risk as we age.

I’ve badly neglected sodium on NutritionFacts.org, but that’s all going to change. I have about a dozen salt videos queued up that dive deep into the existing controversies. It’s such an enormous topic that it was a bit intimidating at first. There are more than 8,000 (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=%22Sodium%2C+Dietary%22%5BMesh%5D) articles on the topic in the medical literature, but that’s what you have me for! If you appreciate my efforts please consider becoming a regular supporter by clicking on the donate (https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/) button above.

For more on Kempner and his rice diet, see:
• Kempner Rice Diet: Whipping Us Into Shape (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kempner-rice-diet-whipping-us-into-shape/)
• Drugs and the Demise of the Rice Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/drugs-and-the-demise-of-the-rice-diet/)
• Can Diabetic Retinopathy Be Reversed? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-diabetic-retinopathy-be-reversed/)

Canned foods are infamous for their sodium content, but there are no-salt varieties (Canned Beans or Cooked Beans? http://nutritionfacts.org/video/canned-beans-or-cooked-beans/). Cutting down on sodium is one of the ways we could be Improving on the Mediterranean Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/improving-on-the-mediterranean-diet/). Beyond heart health it could also help our kidneys (How to Treat Kidney Stones with Diet http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-kidney-stones-with-diet/). But if you cut down on salt, won’t everything taste like cardboard? See Changing Our Taste Buds (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/changing-our-taste-buds/).

More on hypertension in How to Prevent High Blood Pressure with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-high-blood-pressure-with-diet/) and How to Treat High Blood Pressure with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-high-blood-pressure-with-diet/). What if you already eat healthy and still can’t get your pressures down? Try adding hibiscus tea (Hibiscus Tea vs. Plant-Based Diets for Hypertension http://nutritionfacts.org/video/hibiscus-tea-vs-plant-based-diets-for-hypertension/) and ground flax seeds (Flax Seeds for Hypertension http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flax-seeds-for-hypertension/) to your diet. And make sure you’re exercising regularly (Longer Life Within Walking Distance http://nutritionfacts.org/video/longer-life-within-walking-distance/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/high-blood-pressure-may-be-a-choice and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *