The Actual Benefit of Diet vs. Drugs

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: The medical profession oversells the benefits of drugs for chronic disease since so few patients would apparently take them if doctors divulged the truth.

Yes, an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure, but a pound isn’t that heavy—why change our diet and lifestyle when we can just wait and let modern medicine fix us up? Turns out we overestimate the efficacy of treatment as well, the subject of my next video, People also Why Prevention is Worth a Ton of Cure.

Sometimes preventive medicine procedures can even be harmful. See Cancer Risk From CT Scan Radiation (nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-risk-from-ct-scan-radiation) and Do Dental X-Rays Cause Brain Tumors? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-dental-x-rays-cause-brain-tumors/)

I’ve previously noted how an honest physician-patient interaction might go in Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fully-consensual-heart-disease-treatment/). What should we be saying? See: What Diet Should Physician’s Recommend? (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/what-diet-should-physicians-recommend/)

So why don’t more doctors do it? See Barriers to Heart Disease Prevention (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/barriers-to-heart-disease-prevention).

More on Dr. Esselstyn’s heart disease reversal study in: Evidence-Based Medicine or Evidence-Biased? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/evidence-based-medicine-or-evidence-biased/)

Of course then there’s just the brute force method: Kempner Rice Diet: Whipping Us Into Shape (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Kempner-Rice-Diet-Whipping-Us-Into-Shape).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-actual-benefit-of-diet-vs-drugs/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.