Why is Meat a Risk Factor for Diabetes?

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Potential culprits include the trans fat in meat, the saturated fat, cholesterol, heme iron, advanced glycation end products (glycotoxins), animal protein (especially leucine), zoonotic viruses, and industrial pollutants that accumulate up the food chain.

What a laundry list of a video! I know I just buzzed through those, but have more in-depth videos on each of the major topics:

Advanced glycation end products:
• Glycotoxins (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/glycotoxins/)
• Avoiding a Sugary Grave (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/avoiding-a-sugary-grave/)
• Reducing Glycotoxin Intake to Prevent Alzheimer’s (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reducing-glycotoxin-intake-to-prevent-alzheimers/)

TOR:
• Why Do We Age? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-do-we-age/)
• Caloric Restriction vs. Animal Protein Restriction (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/caloric-restriction-vs-animal-protein-restriction/)
• Prevent Cancer From Going on TOR (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prevent-cancer-from-going-on-tor/)
• Saving Lives By Treating Acne With Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/saving-lives-by-treating-acne-with-diet/)

Viruses: Infectobesity: Adenovirus 36 and Childhood Obesity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/infectobesity-adenovirus-36-and-childhood-obesity/)

Poultry workers:
• Poultry Exposure and Neurological Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/poultry-exposure-and-neurological-disease/)
• Poultry Exposure Tied to Liver and Pancreatic Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/poultry-exposure-tied-to-liver-and-pancreatic-cancer/)
• Eating Outside Our Kingdom (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eating-outside-our-kingdom/)

Industrial pollutants:
• Obesity-Causing Pollutants in Food (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/obesity-causing-pollutants-in-food/)
• Diabetes and Dioxins (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diabetes-and-dioxins/)
• Pollutants in Salmon and Our Own Fat (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pollutants-in-salmon-and-our-own-fat/)

The link between meat and diabetes may also be due to a lack of sufficient protective components of plants in the diet. That’s the subject of my next video: How May Plants Protect Against Diabetes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-may-plants-protect-against-diabetes)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-is-meat-a-risk-factor-for-diabetes and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.