Why Was Heart Disease Rare in the Mediterranean?

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:

DESCRIPTION: What was it about the diet on the Greek isle of Crete in the 1950s that made it so healthy?

This is the first of a 6-part video series on the Mediterranean diet. Normally I’d split these up so it’s not day after day of the same topic, but I figure there is enough general interest in the subject that it was worth the Mediterranean marathon. The next five are:
2. The Mediterranean Diet or a Whole Food Plant-Based Diet? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-mediterranean-diet-or-a-whole-food-plant-based-diet)
3. PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/videos/predimed-does-eating-nuts-prevent-strokes)
4. Which Parts of the Mediterranean Diet Extended Life? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-parts-of-the-mediterranean-diet-extended-life)
5. Do Flexitarians Live Longer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-flexitarians-live-longer)
6. Improving on the Mediterranean Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/improving-on-the-mediterranean-diet)

I’ve mentioned the Mediterranean diet before, but never in this depth:
• 50 Shades of Greens (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/50-shades-of-greens/)
• Methionine Restriction as a Life Extension Strategy (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/methionine-restriction-as-a-life-extension-strategy/)
• Preventing Alzheimer’s Disease with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-alzheimers-disease-with-diet/)

More information on heme iron:
Risk Associated With Iron Supplements (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/risk-associated-with-iron-supplements/)

More information on magnesium in How Do Nuts Prevent Sudden Cardiac Death? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-do-nuts-prevent-sudden-cardiac-death/) and Mineral of the Year—Magnesium (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/mineral-of-the-year-magnesium/).

And more on polyphenols in videos like How to Slow Brain Aging by Two Years (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-slow-brain-aging-by-two-years/) and Juicing Removes More Than Just Fiber (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/juicing-removes-more-than-just-fiber/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-was-heart-disease-rare-in-the-mediterranean and he’ll try to answer it!

• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *