Dried Apples, Dates, Figs or Prunes for Cholesterol?

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates
DESCRIPTION: A comparison of the cholesterol-lowering potential of four dried fruit—apples, dates, figs, and plums. This supports the extraordinary findings detailed in Dried Apples Versus Cholesterol (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-versus-cholesterol/). More on dried fruit can be found in Better Than Goji Berries (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/better-than-goji-berries/), Amla Versus Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-diabetes/), and To Snack or Not to Snack? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/to-snack-or-not-to-snack/) Those with asthma may want to choose dried fruits without the preservative sulfur dioxide (http://nutritionfacts.org/questions/sulfite-sensitivity-from-dried-fruits/).

Though variety is important (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/apples-and-oranges-dietary-diversity/), apples are an excellent choice. See also Apples & Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/apples-breast-cancer/) and The Healthiest Apple (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-healthiest-apple/). More on the sugar content of dates in Are Dates Good For You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-dates-good-for-you/), a recipe in Healthy Pumpkin Pie (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/healthy-pumpkin-pie-2/), and my favorite source here (http://nutritionfacts.org/questions/where-can-i-find-a-good-variety-of-dates/). Prunes may not help our cholesterol, but they may improve the health of our skin—see Beauty Is More Than Skin Deep (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/beauty-is-more-than-skin-deep/). That’s of course in addition to their customary regularity role, something I’m going to address in the next video Prunes vs. Metamucil vs. Vegan Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-vs-metamucil-vs-vegan-diet/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-dates-figs-or-prunes-for-cholesterol/ and he’ll try to answer it!

www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.