Making Our Arteries Less Sticky

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates
Donate at http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsdonation
DESCRIPTION: Mushrooms appear to have an anti-inflammatory effect on human arterial lining cells in vitro, which may help stop the inflammatory cascade thought integral to the progression of atherosclerotic (artery-clogging) heart disease. The effects of shitake, crimini, oyster, maitake and plain white button mushrooms are compared. For more magic from plain white mushrooms, see Vegetables Versus Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/vegetables-versus-breast-cancer/) and Breast Cancer Prevention: Which Mushroom Is Best? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-prevention-which-mushroom-is-best/). Just make sure to cook them- Toxins in Raw Mushrooms? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/toxins-in-raw-mushrooms/). In terms of anti-inflammatory foods in general, check out Anti-Inflammatory Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-antioxidants/), Garden Variety Anti-Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/garden-variety-anti-inflammation/), Aspirin Levels in Plant Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aspirin-levels-in-plant-foods/), and Dried Apples Versus Cholesterol (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-versus-cholesterol/). In terms of pro-inflammatory foods, see the 4-part series Improving Mood Through Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/improving-mood-through-diet/), Inflammatory Remarks About Arachidonic Acid (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/inflammatory-remarks-about-arachidonic-acid/), Chicken, Eggs, and Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chicken-eggs-and-inflammation/), and Chicken’s Fate Is Sealed (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chickens-fate-is-sealed/). If you missed it, please check out yesterday’s video- of-the-day (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/blocking-the-first-step-of-heart-disease) and any of the other 500 or so videos covering more than a thousand topics at http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/making-our-arteries-less-sticky/ and he’ll try to answer it!

www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: www.bit.ly/nutritionupdates
• Donate: www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.